Who we are

MARE was established in 2000 by the University of Amsterdam and SISWO (Netherland’s Institute for Social Science Research). MARE now has six institutional partners, located in five countries of Europe:

The MARE staff consists of social scientists involved with topics of coast and sea, who contribute to one or more of MARE’s products (Conference, Journal MAST, Publication series). Most of them are linked to the MARE’s institutional partners, but people from other organisations and from other countries are active in MARE as well.

MARE ‘s Executive Committee

Prof. Dr. Maarten Bavinck : [staff-                     position]

Prof. Dr. Maarten Bavinck

Department of Geography, Planning and International Development Studies, University of Amsterdam / Fisheries College, University of Tromsø - MARE Co-director

Dr. Marloes Kraan : [staff-                     position]

Dr. Marloes Kraan

Researcher at Environmental Policy Group, Wageningen University & Wageningen Marine Research, IJmuiden

MARE ‘s Board

Prof. Dr. Jahn Petter Johnson : [staff-                     position]

Prof. Dr. Jahn Petter Johnson

Professor Norwegian College of Fishery Science, UiT-the Arctic University of Norway

Prof. Dr. Achim Schlüter : [staff-                     position]

Prof. Dr. Achim Schlüter

Centre for Tropical Marine Research Bremen, work group leader of institutional and behavioural economics

Dr. Joeri Scholtens : [staff-                     position]

Dr. Joeri Scholtens

Research fellow, University of Amsterdam, MARE treasurer

Prof. dr. ir. Jan van Tatenhove : [staff-                     position]

Prof. dr. ir. Jan van Tatenhove

Professor of Marine Governance and MSP and Distinguished professor AAU Centre for Blue Governance, Aalborg University Denmark,

Prof. Dr. Joyeeta Gupta : [staff-                     position]

Prof. Dr. Joyeeta Gupta

Professor of Environment and Development in the Global South – Governance and Inclusive Development, University of Amsterdam – MARE Chair

Dr. Luc van Hoof : [staff-                     position]

Dr. Luc van Hoof

Manager European Research Development Wageningen Marine Research, Executive Secretary EFARO, Senior Researcher Marine Governance Wageningen Marine Research

Dr. Alyne Delaney : [staff-                     position]

Dr. Alyne Delaney

Associate Professor, Department of Development and Planning, University of Aalborg

MARE ‘s contributors

Dr. Benjamin Blount : [staff-                     position]

Dr. Benjamin Blount

SocioEcological Informatics, USA

Dr. Sebastian Linke : [staff-                     position]

Dr. Sebastian Linke

Associate Professor at School of Global Studies, University of Gothenburg

Silke Hoppe : [staff-                     position]

Silke Hoppe

Editorial assistant of Maritime Studies, PhD candidate at University of Amsterdam, Centre for Social Science and Global Health

Prof. Dr. Simon Bush : [staff-                     position]

Prof. Dr. Simon Bush

Wageningen University, The Netherlands

Dr. Sarah Coulthard : [staff-                     position]

Dr. Sarah Coulthard

Northumbria University, United Kingdom

Prof. Dr. Svein Jentoft : [staff-                     position]

Prof. Dr. Svein Jentoft

Norwegian Fisheries College, University of Tromsø, Norway

Dr. Derek Johnson : [staff-                     position]

Dr. Derek Johnson

University of Manitoba, Canada

Prof. Dr. Ajit Menon : [staff-                     position]

Prof. Dr. Ajit Menon

Madras Institute of Development Studies, Chennai, India

Dr. Iris Monnereau : [staff-                     position]

Dr. Iris Monnereau

Food and Agricultural Organization, Barbados

Dr. Jesper Raakjaer : [staff-                     position]

Dr. Jesper Raakjaer

Department of Development and Planning, University of Aalborg

Prof. Dr. Kevin St. Martin : [staff-                     position]

Prof. Dr. Kevin St. Martin

Associate Professor, Department of Geography, Rutgers University. Professor II, Faculty of Biosciences, Fisheries and Economics, Universitetet I Tromsø, Norway.